# Executive Committee Zoom Minutes March 8, 2022 11:00 am

**Attendance:** Charlie King, Brick Lewis, Zorrina Harmon, Ashley Boltin, Jamie Caggiano, Jamie Helms, John Jones, Josh Holzheimer, Terry Sheriff, Mike Norket, Randy Arant, Ross Vezin, Malcolm Burns, John Bowers, Jason Pope, David Hindman, Brian Moon, Jack Kirlin, Keith Minick, Rick Cramer, Ryan Eubanks.

11:35 am President Caggiano thanked everyone for joining the meeting. Last week he received a resignation letter from Executive Director Charlie King that he had accepted a position as Fire Chief for Anderson City Fire Department. Chief Caggiano talked with Joe Palmer about the possibility of coming back as our interim Executive Director. Chief Caggiano has spoken with Zorrina about how we would work contract and payroll through PRS. Joe has agreed that he would be interested in coming back on an interim basis to lead the organization through the process for a rate of \$2,000 a week on a contractual basis. Chief Caggiano opened the floor for discussion. Chief Malcolm Burns expressed that he felt it would be worth more discussion to look inward and see if we can divide duties internally. Discussion was had that during the transition between Jim Bowie and Joe Palmer there was no interim director.

A motion was made by Josh Holzheimer to extend the offer to Joe Palmer as interim director until a new director is appointed; seconded by Malcolm Burns. All in favor.

Charlie King, Zorrina Harmon & Joe Palmer will work together on the logistics of getting Joe on board with PRS. We will meet at a later date and time to discuss how we will go about advertising for the new Executive Director position.

Chief Caggiano turn the floor over to Chief Jamie Helms, he would like to bring a recommendation from the Advisory Committee on award selections. At this time, we will hold off on the Hall of Fame awards but will review all other award recommendations.

The advisory committee would like to bring the following recommendation as 2022 Award recipients

#### Citizenship

Lillian Carney of the Carney Foundation

#### Media

Paul Brown a freelance agent from the Pickens County area Gator 107.9 Moring Show -iHeart Media Myrtle Beach

### **Educator of the Year**

Billy Floyd, North Myrtle Beach

### **Meritorious Action**

Clinton Fire (Jeremy Marshall, Josh McLendon, Josh Howell, Clay Ward, Hasting Stewart)

Columbia – Richland Fire Department River Rescue (1<sup>st</sup> Shift, 26 Recipients from Engine 6, Ladder 7, Rescue 1, Battalion 2, Boat 1, Engine 1, Rescue 2, Ladder 9, Battalion 5, Rehab 1)

Columbia – Richland Fire Department Penelope Lane House Fire (Booker Moore, Ryan Doerzbacher, Michael Deal, Arthur Mitchell, Cleo Jackson, Justin Epps, Travis Wiggins, Kenneth Foster, Layne Dowey)

Greenville City Fire Department (Paul Boggs, Robert Taylor, Corey Bennett, Andrew Crawford, Nathan Reimns, Grant Wills, Ray Citrone, Chad Cochran, Kurtis Stanley, Derrick Huskamp, John Dill, Brandon Welliver)

Irmo Fire District (Rob Stewart, Casey Clinkscale, Ryan Kenney, David Crall, Sean Wargny, David Silva, Brent Adams, Nate Mansfield, John Paparella, Jazzimire Benjamin)

Liberty Fire Department (Jonathan Bryant & Chris Rowland); seconded by Chris Weaver. All in favor.

We would like to present one of the Hall of Fame Awards for approval today Tracy Williams from Westview-Fairforest Fire Department. We will present the remaining name at our next meeting.

## All in favor.

We look forward to seeing everyone tomorrow at Legislative day.

A motion was made to adjourn at 11:58 am.